New National Lotteries Commission Board appointed

Three new board members named

| By

A new board has been appointed for the National Lotteries Commission. Archive photo: Ashraf Hendricks

The Cabinet has approved the appointment of a new board for the National Lotteries Commission, after the term of the interim board that was appointed for a year in 2022 ended.

The new board replaces the four-member board appointed by Minister of Trade, Industry and Competition Ebrahim Patel in March last year for a one-year term which ended on 31 March. The new board will serve a five-year term.

Patel has retained three members of the previous interim board. They are Beryl Ferguson, who is a businesswoman as well as the deputy chair of the South African National Biodiversity Institute and a former Cope MP; Precious Mvulane, an accountant, auditor and businesswoman; and Willie Hofmeyr, former head of the National Prosecuting Authority’s Asset Forfeiture Unit.

Professor Barney Pityana, who was appointed board chair in September last year on a five-year contract, continues in that position.

Three new board members have been appointed to bolster the capacity and skills of the NLC board. They are Lionel October the former director-general of the Department of Trade, Industry and Competition (DTIC), Thembinkosi Bonakele the former head of the Competition Commission, and Irene Ramafola the former chief financial officer of the Department of Economic Development (which was merged into the DTIC in 2019) and a current director of the South African National Accreditation System.

As a former director of the DTIC, October was tasked by Patel with dealing with the NLC as evidence of institutionalised fraud and corruption came tumbling out into the open.

Patel subsequently appointed him acting NLC commissioner last year for a three-month period, before the appointment of new commissioner Jodi Scholtz in February.

During his short tenure as commissioner, October instituted a series of investigations into NLC corruption. He also instituted disciplinary hearings against former NLC commissioner Thabang Mampane, former chief operating officer Phillemon Letwaba, a key player in the looting of the lottery, and other top members of the NLC’s executive. Letwaba resigned with immediate effect rather than face the inquiries.

The appointment of the new board is the latest move by Patel to stabilise and clean up the NLC, which had been overwhelmed by fraud, corruption and nepotism in recent years.

Correction on 2023-05-02 15:08

This article has been amended to say that Professor Barney Pityana continues to chair the new board.

TOPICS:  National Lotteries Commission

Next:  For years, subsidies have been withheld from poorest Eastern Cape schools

Previous:  South Africa and the International Criminal Court: what next?

© 2023 GroundUp. This article is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.

You may republish this article, so long as you credit the authors and GroundUp, and do not change the text. Please include a link back to the original article.

We put an invisible pixel in the article so that we can count traffic to republishers. All analytics tools are solely on our servers. We do not give our logs to any third party. Logs are deleted after two weeks. We do not use any IP address identifying information except to count regional traffic. We are solely interested in counting hits, not tracking users. If you republish, please do not delete the invisible pixel.