A Langa team qualifies for prestigious U19 soccer tournament for first time

| Siyabonga Kalipa
PPG Langa have qualified for this year’s edition of the Metropolitan U19 Cup, also known as the Bayhill Cup for the first time. Photo by Siyabonga Kalipa.

On the weekend, the Metropolitan U19 Cup play-offs come to an end with the round-robin stage at the Bayhill United Legacy grounds in Mitchell’s Plain. 14 teams from the Western Cape will join host club Bayhill United, reigning champions Ajax Cape Town and Morgenster United champions in the Mitchell’s Plain LFA.

PPG Langa have qualified for the first time in this year’s Bayhill cup, when they won two games and drew one in their four-team group.

PPG Langa coach Gareth Ncaca said, “It’s hard to express how we feel as a team and the community of Langa, but we are happy. This means a lot for my boys; they will showcase their talent and get exposure.”

“We are going to give it our best in the tournament and enjoy the experience. We just want to go past the group stages. After that, anything can happen.”

The 15 other teams to make up the 32 for the tournament come from top local academies and Premier Soccer League development teams. Santos Football Club, who have participated in the tournament since 1990, will miss out in this year’s edition.

Chief Executive of Metropolitan Retail, Khanyi Nzukuma was quoted as saying, “Congratulations to the fourteen teams that have secured a place in the 2015 Metropolitan U19 Premier Cup after the long, hard journey they have undertook to get this far. We look forward to this year’s instalment of the tournament that will see another production line of talented youngsters make a name for themselves and join the professional ranks.”

Some of the past and present big names in South African football like Benni McCarthy, Nassief Morris, Mathew Booth, Steven Pienaar, Thulani Serero, Daine Klate and Ayanda Patosi, to mention but a few, have played in this tournament.

The draw for the 2015 Metropolitan Premier Cup is scheduled to take place on 2 March, while the actual tournament runs from 1 to 6 April at Erica Park sports field in Belhar.

The 14 qualified teams are: Old Mutual Academy Invincible Cravenby Blue Down Spurs Milano United JL Zwane Greenwood Athletic Vasco da Gama Maties FC Battswood FC Southampton FC Hellenic FC PPG Langa Jumbo Giants Glenedene United

Dodgy people are suing us. Please support us by contributing to our legal costs and helping us to publish news that matters.

Donate using SnapScan.
Snapscan QR code

TOPICS:  Sport

Next:  After the SONA: questions for President Zuma

Previous:  Corruption busting vs defamation in Lowveld court case

© 2016 GroundUp. Creative Commons License
This article is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.