Statement by Concerned Stellenbosch University individual Senators, regarding the ongoing genocide and destruction of the education sector in Gaza

As undersigned individual members of Senate at Stellenbosch University, we feel compelled to address the university Senate's position on the genocide in Gaza.

We express deep dismay at Senate's rejection of a motion calling for a ceasefire and an end to the genocide in Gaza. We wish to register our dissenting views and call on Senate to reconsider its stance. We stand united in advocating for an immediate ceasefire in Gaza and for the preservation of the education sector from further destruction.

Furthermore, we urge the Council and Convocation of the University to take a clear position against the decimation of the education system and daily existence in Gaza.

No South African higher education institution can claim 'autonomy' when it comes to opposing racism, genocide, apartheid, and the violation of fundamental human rights. We reaffirm our unwavering commitment to the adoption of the resolutions outlined below.

Our commitment to the call for a ceasefire in Gaza, as outlined in the motion that was defeated in Senate and communicated through a public statement signed in our individual capacities (Daily Maverick, 11 April 2024), remains steadfast. It is important to note that a significant portion of Senate did support the motion, and more endorsed the public statement. Despite the prevailing sentiment in Senate, there are many progressive voices at Stellenbosch University, dedicated to transformation and justice both in rhetoric and action.

There are those who may claim that collective institutional condemnation of crimes against humanity and gross human rights violations somehow encroaches on academic freedom. We disagree. We are concerned, furthermore, by what we view as deep-seated small pockets of conservatism within Stellenbosch University, which we vehemently oppose. We are also troubled that Stellenbosch University, with its commitment to addressing the wrongs of its past and its role in apartheid, which was declared a crime against humanity by the United Nations General Assembly in 1966, has failed to vote to condemn apartheid and genocide in Gaza.

As the highest academic decision-making body of the university, Senate bears a moral obligation to champion justice, peace, and equity for all. We expect clear moral leadership from our Senate. We view such moral leadership to be at the heart of the University's vision to 'advance knowledge in service of society' and its self-proclaimed mission to be 'a place connected to the world ... enriching and transforming local, continental and global communities'. We therefore call on the Senate to revisit its decision to reject the motion and call for proper inclusive and rational debate of the motion in the Senate and the broader campus.

We:

- 1. Call for an immediate ceasefire and the cessation of attacks on civilians in Gaza and Israel, the passage of humanitarian aid, the return of all captives, including the safe return of hostages captured by Hamas, and the immediate release of all unjustly detained Palestinians from Israeli prisons.
- 2. Condemn the destruction of the education sector in Gaza and the massive scale of killing of teachers and university staff in the current war.
- 3. Urge the international community to ensure that the provision of humanitarian aid includes the restoration of the education sector in Gaza.
- 4. Express our concern and opposition to any attempts to curtail academic freedom by labelling criticism of Israel or Zionist policies as antisemitism.
- 5. Reject the definition of antisemitism by the IHRA.
- 6. Express our support for academic colleagues in Gaza who are surviving under appalling conditions and our intention to assist (as best as possible) in the rebuilding of the academic sector after the war.
- 7. Express our solidarity with academic colleagues victimised for their willingness to speak out against the destruction of the education system in Gaza.

As a university, we bear a unique responsibility to denounce the scholasticide wrought by Israel's actions in Gaza. The ongoing destruction of Gaza's educational infrastructure by Israel constitutes a grave and enduring harm to the educational prospects of an entire generation of Gazan children, students, researchers and academics. Since October 7, 2023, Israel has subjected all 11 universities in the Gaza enclave to bombing, leaving approximately 90,000 Palestinian students unable to pursue their university education. The loss of life among students has tragically surpassed 4,237, with over 7,800 sustaining injuries. Moreover, the IDF's targeting has resulted in the destruction or damage of eight dedicated libraries and four university libraries.

Such egregious actions demand unambiguous condemnation. Anything less would signify a failure to fulfil our moral and ethical obligation to oppose one of the most brutal forms of educational devastation inflicted upon a population.

Signed:

- 1. Prof Ashraf Kagee
- 2. Prof Faadiel Essop
- 3. Prof Desmond Painter
- 4. Prof Aslam Fataar
- 5. Prof Geo Quinot
- 6. Prof Soraya Seedat
- 7. Prof Steven Robins
- 8. Prof Herman Wasserman
- 9. Prof Nadine Bowers Du Toit
- 10. Prof Juliana Claassens
- 11. Prof Mark Swilling
- 12. Prof Lesley Le Grange
- 13. Prof Ian Couper
- 14. Prof Lou-Marie Kruger
- 15. Prof Louis Jonker
- 16. Prof Sandy Liebenberg
- 17. Prof Ronelle Carolissen
- 18. Prof Pieter Fourie
- 19. Prof Nuraan Davids
- 20. Prof Samantha Sampson
- 21. Prof Craig Kinnear
- 22. Prof Reggie Nel
- 23. Prof Robert Vosloo
- 24. Prof Marianne Strydom
- 25. Prof Donita Africander
- 26. Prof Jeremy Punt
- 27. Prof Clive Gray
- 28. Prof Mehita Iqani
- 29. Dr Therese Fish
- 30. Ms Ellen Tise
- 31. Prof Kathryn Chu
- 32. Prof Quinette Louw
- 33. Prof Lambert Engelbrecht
- 34. Prof Mark Tomlinson
- 35. Prof Cas Wepener
- 36. Prof Amanda Gouws
- 37. Prof Henk Botha
- 38. Prof Bruce Anderson

- 39. Prof Shannon Hoctor
- 40. Prof Louise Du Toit
- 41. Prof Savel Daniels
- 42. Prof Razeen Davids
- 43. Prof Selwyn Mapolie
- 44. Prof Soraya Bardien
- 45. Prof Andries Visagie
- 46. Mr Rubeshan Nayager
- 47. Prof Jonathan Carr
- 48. Prof Tina Steiner
- 49. Prof Léanne Dreyer
- 50. Prof Susan van Schalkwyk
- 51. Prof Lize van Robbroeck
- 52. Ilhaam Groenewald
- 53. Prof Sarah Skeen
- 54. Prof Marlo Möller
- 55. Irfaan Dalvie
- 56. Prof Tania Ajam
- 57. Prof Johann Mouton
- 58. Prof Johann Rohwer
- 59. Ms Miriam Hoosain
- 60. Prof Lieketseng Ned
- 61. Dr Leslie van Rooi
- 62. Prof Xikombiso Mbhenyane
- 63. Prof Martha Geiger
- 64. Prof Anita Cloete
- 65. Prof Kopano Ratele
- 66. Prof Zwelinzima Ndevu
- 67. Prof Nico Koopman
- 68. Reagan Johnson, SRC Executive
- 69. Prof Kathy Myburgh
- 70. Prof Sadulla Karjiker
- 71. Dr Kelebogile Choice Makhetha
- 72. Prof Taryn Young
- 73. Prof Anna-Mart Engelbrecht
- 74. Prof Michael le Cordeur
- 75. Prof Estelle Swart
- 76. Prof Bernard Wessels
- 77. Prof Bernard Dubbeld
- 78. Prof Mawande Dlali

- 79. Dr Kathryn Smith
- 80. Prof Sally Ann Murray
- 81. Prof Michael Cherry
- 82. Ass Prof Lana van Niekerk
- 83. Prof Leslie Swartz
- 84. Prof Corne Schutte
- 85. Prof Catharine Esterhuysen
- 86. Prof Wikus van Niekerk
- 87. Prof Lynette van Zijl
- 88. Prof Nicola Smit
- 89. Amory Smith, AAC Representative
- 90. Bantubonke Louw
- 91. Prof Andrew Whitelaw
- 92. Prof Sam Tshehla